Day 4 – Why I came to Romania

Today I took my „first shot“ on street photography. Even tho I only have my 50mm 1.4 on my beloved 5D MK II with me and everyone speaks of street photography as a field of 35mm photography. But I have to say: I enjoyed the little plus of distance between me and the situations I took pictures of.
The city seems perfect for that because the gap between the poor and the rich people shows up in a very dramatic, intense way. Enjoy!

I count the following picture as the first stranger portrait that I took. It’s a very special picture for me because I struggled for about two minutes with my own shyness (Yes I know, nobody would ever think I´m shy.. but yes.. Iam :))… After those two minutes of pain and struggle I went away from him already preparing a blog post in my mind about how shy I´am, missing a great opportunity. But then I said to myself.. wait.. how can you write about missing a great chance on a photoblog without having a photo?.. “Fuck it… lets try it”.. ok.. I have to admit, I didn´t say “fuck it, lets do it.. I´m not cool enough for that^^).. I prayed.. simply prayed to find the right words and to not be beaten up 😀

The picture basically shows why I went to Romania. I want to take pictures like this. Of course you can take pictures “like this” almost everywhere but they will look different every time. And they tell you way more than a picture of me standing in front of a famous building or something like that.

 

After taking the pictures I felt like jumping the next 50 meters towards the next picture.. I didn’t do that.. but.. it felt like I did 😉
Encouraged by that great victory in the field of war against my own shyness I stumbled to the next person and of course got grounded immediately. He wanted money. He showed me a 1.. so I took out 1 Lei and handed it over.. then he said: 10!.. And I went away frustrated. He had a little shop underneath a blue scaffold. That looked pretty awesome.. but.. whatever I thought and went to the next little street in Bucharest.

4 thoughts on “Day 4 – Why I came to Romania

    • Vielen Dank Max, freut mich wenn Bilder und Zeilen Erinnerungen wecken können. Diese Stadt ist faszinierend, “angenehm” allerdings würde mir nicht gleich in den Sinn kommen muss ich zugeben. Sie ist krass, kontrastreich, erdrückend und befreiend zugleich und noch so viele andere Dinge die ich nicht in Worte fassen kann… Vielen Dank für deinen Kommentar! 🙂

Leave a comment